Call It Magic

Greetings, readers.

I, like many others, like a movie that makes you think. I like a movie that messes with your emotions, one that touches you and allows you to connect with it or one that makes just go, “…What…”. I am, according to some, somewhat picky when it comes to movies. It’s not that I don’t like comedy, and I understand that sometimes other people like to just sit down and watch a funny, cheap-laugh type of movie. But I like the ones that make you think.

I recently watched a movie called The Prestige, which has inspired thought that has led to this blog post. It’s made me think about stories, not necessarily in movies, but also in books. It’s made me realize how hard to write, yet great all the same, stories are when they take place on a relatable level between two or a few characters.

I get tired of Marvel movies, for example, that consist of ultimately a single plot line: Saving the world. But this blog post isn’t to bash Marvel movies (though that could come sometime XD), so I’ll simply say that I get tired of movies and books where everything hangs on the balance, meaning, everything. Like, either the good guys win, or the world ends, and the world never ends, does it? What does this leave us with? The usual, good guys win.

I’m not saying that I don’t like it when the good guys win, or that I want the world to end (but come soon, Jesus), but what I am saying is that there is such a more interesting and almost intimate feel to a story that consists of a real problem, with real characters. With real hatred, real love, something relatable, something deeper, something that took thought and work, something that leaves you with a lot of thinking to do yourself.

(Warning, the following contains spoilers for the movie The Prestige, just in case you haven’t seen it and want to.)

In the movie, The Prestige, it has two men who are rival magicians after one of them accidentally killed the other’s wife. So throughout the movie, their hatred grows for each other. This goes on until it’s monstrous and hateful in itself. You see what has happened, which I consider to be both rare and genius? There is no good guy anymore. There is one man trying to live his life, have a career and a family, but his hate and longing to prove himself overcomes him. Then there’s the other, who the writer portrays as being the better one, the one who has lost more, and the one who is more justified. The one who tries not to get his hands dirty. But what happens in the end? In the end, the one who the writer portrays as trying not to get his hands dirty, kills himself like 20+ times (you’d have to see the movie to understand that) and he kills the other man as well.

But there’s one more catch. You know dislike the latter character pretty strongly, but the former, in the end, kills him. So you’re left, in the end, with two murderers. And you’re left with a lot to think about too, mainly plot-wise.

To close, I would just like to state that I don’t like being left with two murderers. Good endings are, well, good. But realistic endings, in my opinion, are unbeatable.

-Sam

2 thoughts on “Call It Magic

Leave a Reply

