Weeping For A Foundation

Hello Readers,

Recently in my Bible, I have been reading in 1&2 Kings, and then 1&2 Chronicles. Now, after much reading about kings and their deeds and the lineage, I have reached Ezra. This morning, I got down from my bunk bed, bleary eyed and cold, as I went to go make breakfast and coffee for myself and the rest of the Chitlin Clan (for future reference, that is what I will be referring to my siblings as). After that was taken care of, and I was awake, I went down to my desk and opened up my Bible to Ezra chapter 3.

IMG_1191
I use an ESV Study Bible, and the one pictured above is my personal one.

And then, as I got to the end, when they were rebuilding the Temple (Ezra 3:8-13) a couple verses caught my eye.

IMG_1189
Ezra 3:11b-12 “And all the people shouted with a great shout when they praised the Lord, because the foundation of the house of the Lord was laid. But many of the priests and Levites and heads of fathers houses, old men who had seen the first house, wept with a loud voice when they saw the foundation of this house being laid…”

Can you imagine what those old men must’ve felt? Their nation had been through so much, and the temple had been destroyed (again). They probably didn’t know whether they’d live to see it rebuilt again. And now they look on as the younger generation takes their place and rebuilds the temple.

Can you hear it? The people shouting for joy?

Can you feel the excitement in the air?

God’s people are shouting and lifting up their voices in praise, and then there are these old priests, these old men who have served their God faithfully and tried to teach their children to follow, old men who have watched as their nation suffered and they wrung their hands and cried out to God.

And these old men are seeing the temple being put back up again. They probably had sons working on the temple.

Can you imagine how they felt when the last stone was in place for the foundation of something they had worked so hard to achieve?

They wept.

They wept and shouted and lifted their old wrinkled hands to the sky.

And if you looked around, in that moment, everyone was shouting and crying, everyone was rejoicing.

But none more so than these old priests, who lived to see their greatest hope rebuilt. They were weeping, they were so overcome.

Isn’t that such a beautiful picture?

An old priest, watching his sons, his friends’ sons, rebuild the temple that had been taken from him, the temple that he longed to serve his God in, and he just lifts his hands to the sky as tears stream down his face and he shouts as loud as he can.

Because the temple is being rebuilt.

~Rubix

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weeping For A Foundation

Leave a Reply

