The Question That Plagues Us

Hello Readers,

There are some very important questions we ask ourselves in life, and one that penetrates almost every season of our life is only three words.

Who am I?

Am I a hero? Am I brave? Am I strong? Am I courageous? Do I have what it takes?

Who am I?

Am I a good friend? Am I a gossip? Am I annoying? Am I good? 

Am I loving? Am I a leader? Am I a follower? Am I worldy? Am I a musician? A writer? A long lost poet? An artist? Am I smart?

Am I a prodigal? Or am I the elder son?

Who am I?

We shout this question into the abyss and all we get is an echo. We try on so many masks, whispering the question into the mirror. We try on different faces, different clothes, trying to figure out which one is us. Trying to find ourselves in a world of people who don’t know who they are. Trying on different jobs, different personalities, different labels, trying to find ourselves in this huge world.

Who am I?

I don’t know all of who I am, I might never know, but I do know this.

I am loved. I am a child of God. I am gifted. I am protected.

I don’t know what I will be twenty years from now. I might be an author, I might be a teacher, a counselor, I might be a math teacher for all I know.

I don’t know who I will be, but I do know this about myself.

I am God’s.

So when I look in the mirror and that question echoes through my head, I know how to answer.

Who are you, Ruby?

I am God’s.

So in a world full of changes, full of catastrophes, full of identity crisis, full of questions, I can say one thing bravely through all of it.

I am a child of the One True King.

~Rubix

 

 

One thought on “The Question That Plagues Us

  1. This is beautiful and it is truth! You brought tears to my eyes. Your answer to the question is so important at any stage of life. Thank you for the reminder. Love you, Aunt Jules

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

