A Short Post

Hey Readers,

If you haven’t already noticed, I’ve been a little sporadic this month (actually, I haven’t written at all). There is a reason for this, just so you know. I didn’t just decide to abandon you to trudge through April by yourself.

I had decided to take on Camp NaNoWriMo (again). (In retrospect, I wonder why I thought it would be an amazing idea, but hey, no backing out now.)

Camp NaNoWriMo is like NaNoWriMo, except you have the ability to set your own word goal for the month. So, for this month, the month of April (just in case you forgot what month it is), I am aiming to write 30,000 words.

So that’s about… 1,000 per day.

Which might not seem like a lot, because it’s pretty easy to just write one word, right? All you have to do is write one word one thousand times. Piece of cake.

Or so they told me.

I’m only seven days in and I’ve already despaired on my story, called myself a horrible writer, hit my head against the wall, and then gone back to writing.

Because doggonit, I need those words!

Camp NaNoWriMo isn’t about writing the best words, or writing the best plot, because you have to get this into your mind when you first start.

Your first draft will be terrible. So deal with it. Move on. It’s not going to be the best book ever yet, because it’s the first draft. 

Camp NaNoWriMo isn’t about making the best book, it’s about finishing one. Finishing that first draft. Once you get the words actually written, then you can fix it, then you can make it better, but you have to actually write the doggone thing first.

So, as Sam always tells me, and I grudgingly admit this is good advice, but I’m willing to bet he read it online or something.

“You can’t edit a blank page.”

So, Sam and I are trying to tackle these words (yes, Sam has gone insane and is also doing Camp NaNoWriMo with me), and for some reason, I’m picturing us trying to corner a bull dressed as two matadors.

Because words are like that.

Wish me luck!

~Rubix the Word Matador

P.S And yes, I took time out of writing to write this post, and no, I can’t count the past 400 some words. I wish I could. But I can’t. Against the “rules”. Yep, it seems unfair, I know.

 

2 thoughts on “A Short Post

Leave a Reply

