And As The Years Go By…

Hello Readers,

I’ve seen a lot of these “Dear 2016” letters out there, so I thought I would write one saying goodbye to 2016 and hello to 2017.

Yes, I am indeed aware it is January 2nd.

Image result for you are a part of the rebel alliance and a traitor
Sorry, Vader.Β 

Dear 2016 and 2017,

First, I would like to address you, 2016. You were a hard year. Now, that’s not to say you weren’t a good year. You were. Some of my favorite memories happened because of you, and for that, I am grateful.

I’m not buying a bunch of this bogus about how you were the worst year ever. I don’t believe in worst years. Hard ones, yes, but there is a ray of light in every year.

2016, thank you. Thank you for the multitude of moments I was able to experience. Thank you for the colors and laughter. And thank you for the goodbyes too, because now I can say hello. But most of all, thank you for teaching me a simple truth that we all must relearn over and over.

I am loved.

Everything you taught me, 2016, goes back to those three words. It was a gong ringing over and over. I see it so clearly now, like a patchwork quilt made of so many moments.

I am loved.

And because I know that, I can now turn and say this to the world.

You are loved.

So thank you, 2016, for teaching me that.

Hello, 2017. I haven’t seen much of you yet. I know you will also be a hard year, but I think that you will also be one of my best years. Which seems like a contradiction, but it really isn’t. It’s in our hardest moments that we realize the most beautiful things. You, 2017, are when I jump into the deep end. 2016 was walking across the diving board. But I do enjoy making cannonballs.

I’m as ready for you as anyone can be,Β 2017, I’m ready for the excitement, the adventure. I am ready for Skype calls with old friends and meetingΒ new ones. You excite me.

I’m ready to face you with what 2016 has taught me. 2017 is a new slate, a new story to be told. But you know what calms me the most, 2017?

I’m not holding the pen.

That’s right, 2017, you are not up to me. I am not penning my story. My Savior is.

I’m not going to lie, 2017, you excite me and terrify me. You are the drop of the rollercoaster, and I’m not a big fan of rollercoasters. I don’t like the anticipation before the drop, but I enjoy the free fall. So I will overcome the fear of the unknown because He has never failed me yet.

I look forward to what you will teach me, 2017. I look forward to new faces and old friendly voices. I look forward to new foods and comforting old ones. I look forward to the mix of new and old, familiar and unknown that you will be.

I look forward to my adventure.

Goodbye and hello,

RubixCube

 

24 thoughts on “And As The Years Go By…

  1. *claps dramatically and cheerfully…*

    Well done Rubix. I really don’t have much to say about this (even though I am actually writing a lot… good luck reading this entire comment…). Sometimes you see something so great that you can’t even say anything good about it. You can just stand there (or sit, lie in bed, or whatever you would like to do) and stare. Well, Rubix, this is one of those times. I hope 2017 is all we hope it to be and perhaps more. We know that He is holding the pen. He is writing our story. Thank you for this wonderful reminder that God has control over everything. May you have an amazing and rewarding New Year.

    Sincerely,
    Hawkeye

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Once again, I love the beauty, truth and honesty of feeling in your writing. I am so thankful for all the memories that our families have had together this year – an absolute blessing. Truly, you are very loved, you wonderful young lady! You are a joy – thanks for sharing. Love, Aunt J

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was beautiful. *wipes tear*

    Yes. 2016 had it’s goofd moments, too. And it was NOT “the worst year ever.” Let’s not be dramatic…

    I also liked how you are determined to look AHEAD, with hope and anticipation. Keep up the good work, dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww, that was SO beautiful!! ❀ ❀ ❀ And it's amazingly true! I, too, don't believe in worst years, but I've heard a lot of people saying that it was bad. But, truthfully, that's where I made my friends. I only had two friends (both of whom I only saw once a month or so … and the one is barely a friend, anyways), and now I have two more who are incredible and funny and quirky. Last year I also decided to keep notecards of some of the "best" moments of my life from this point out, and keep them in a box. There were so many good ones made. πŸ™‚

    All that to say, it was an amazing post, and so true-to-heart. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As one of my characters says, “If we lived solely off strawberries and cream, nothing we did would really matter. When it’s all silk and satin and fine jewelry, it’s easy to have convictions. It’s easy to have ideals. But when it’s dirt and cold hard ground, when life sucks, that’s when things matter. Life sort of has to suck, otherwise we’d never GO anyplace.”
    (If that makes any sense.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

