Finally! A Writing Post!

Hello Readers,

So I realized I don’t really talk that much about my writing projects on here. There was a post a while back on How To Break The World, but besides that, I haven’t really talked about them all that much.

Today, that is going to change. Today, you will be hearing all about my recent project, a novella prequel to How To Break The World titled How To Crush A Revolution. But first, we will begin with the cover.

how-to-crush-a-revolution
Taaadddaaa!

The reason why I wrote How To Crush A Revolution is because most of the events in How To Break The World are almost entirely influenced by an event that happens just before the book begins. I realized, after writing the first draft that I had no idea how that grand event actually happened and the ins and outs of how this world of Asgard worked before How To Break The World.

So, a prequel seemed in order. A little over six months went into writing it, and I am proud to say that it is nearly finished!

Plot: The idea of this prequel is that riots are breaking out and the people are becoming unstable because of the lie they’ve been telling themselves for centuries. The lie that they are “gods”. They want to take the earth and rule it because they feel that they deserve it. That’s where Loki comes in. The government can’t do anything to stop them or placate the mobs that are continually growing, so they decide to wipe the slate clean. They want to begin again. So Loki is called upon to use his gifts to make this idea become a reality. Hence the name, How To Crush  A Revolution, because that is essentially what he’s doing.

The Cast:

Loki Laufeyson is my protagonist in both this book and How To Break The World. All scenes are from his point of view. He is a hodgepodge of many different interpretations of the original Loki in the myths. He is mischievous but not evil. Chaotic, but not without his good moments. He wants a second chance, but is unsure about how to get one. He is a wanderer and easily bored, which is why he generally turns to various means to satisfy his craving for mischief. A Liesmith is what the magicians of Asgard are called, and they use their gifts to protect the kingdom from intruders. Loki is one of the most powerful, surpassing even his teacher, Frigga.

“Hello, gentlemen.” My words crash against the glass like water, and their eyes are still wide in fright while their shaking limbs relax. Interesting.

He presses the piece of paper against the glass, his finger accidentally hitting into it every time it shakes.

“You have to come with us.”

I open my hands wide and shrug.

He blinks, as if he did not expect this. He takes his paper back, scribbling on it before shoving it against the glass, staring widely at me.

“What do you want?”

~How To Crush A Revolution 

lokis-aesthetic
Aesthetic for Loki Laufeyson. ^-^

Sigyn Laufeyson is Loki’s wife and she used to be a highly influential political figure in the Asgardian government. Now she works more behind the scenes; she is even more influential now than she was when she was younger. She loves books more than anything and she’s the one of the only people that will stand up to Loki. She is throwing around the idea of writing an autobiography to encourage young girls who want to be politicians. She also adores hot beverages and rainy days.

     -Flashback scene-

 

           “Hello, I’m Loki.” I say, trying to recover from the oddity that is this girl.

            “I know who you are.” She rolls her eyes, turning back to her book. “I’m busy. The main character just discovered his father’s coworker was the killer and I need to know how it ends.”

            I blink. I’ve never felt like this before. I’ve never been ignored before. Nobody can actually ignore me because of my gift. How can she? I’ve been hated, yes, but never ignored.

            “Who are you?” I ask, the words rolling off my tongue before I can take them back, my curiosity piqued.

            “Sigyn.” She mumbles, flipping the page, her eyes widening. “Oh my… I did not see that coming.”

            She doesn’t look at me again, and I think that’s when I started to love her.

~How To Crush A Revolution

sigyn-aesthetic
Aesthetic for Sigyn Laufeyson ❤

Hel Laufeyson is the daughter of Loki and Sigyn Laufeyson. She is the governor of the Herlið district, which makes her essentially the commander of the army. Because of her station, she has tattoos down half her body that identify her so she can give orders easily. She is a brilliant planner, but she doesn’t like her job because she can’t stand to watch men lose lives. They jokingly call her “the queen of hell” because of the missions she has had to send the army on. She knows she must do it for the good of her country, but she can’t help but wonder what would have happened if she had been chosen for a different path. She worries a lot about her father and brothers.

            “You need rest. That’s why they sent me instead of Mother. Mother would let you out of bed and help you but I refuse. I refuse to let you work yourself to death. Mother may have given up on trying to get you to slow down, but I haven’t.” She stiffens with anger as she glares at me.

I raise my eyebrows. “How long do you think you can keep me here, Hel?”

“Until you’re well enough to stand on your own.” She says, and then quickly adds. “Without illusions.”

“You know all my tricks.” I grin, winking at her.

                                                                                                                              ~How To Crush A Revolution

hel-aesthetic
Aesthetic for Hel Laufeyson ❤ 

Jörmungandr “Jor” Laufeyson is the son of Sigyn and Loki Laufeyson. He has snake eyes and scaly arms because of his father’s gifts, and he can make fire with his hands. He has to wear specially designed glasses to keep from seeing in infrared instead of normal vision. He is also slightly colorblind. Jor is a scientist and is very gentle and calm. Few would expect him to be a Laufeyson, as they have a tendency to be bold and confrontational. Jor stays out of the limelight that his family almost constantly walks in. Very few people actually remember that he is the son of Loki and Sigyn, but his “Laufeyson” side comes out when people touch his experiments.

“You’re… causing widespread amnesia for the government to turn a blind eye to your exploits?” He asks, his legs shaking now and he drops his briefcase. “And you’re… coming to say goodbye. You’re doing this to me? Hel knows about this? She didn’t stop you?”

“That’s not all of it, Jor, and I wish I could tell you everything. But I can’t.” I run my hand over his hair, sighing. “Hel didn’t try to stop me because she knew she couldn’t. I am doing the only thing that I can do.”

“The only thing you can do that will make you free.” Jor sighs, looking up at me.

 

  ~How To Crush A Revolution

jor-aesthetic
Aesthetic for the sweetest Laufeyson, Jor

Fenrir Laufeyson is the eldest son of Loki and Sigyn. Fenrir is actually the most like his dad out of the Laufeyson Trio. Because of his dad’s gifts, he has heightened senses and wolf ears that he covers with a hat. He works on the streets in a gang he made called The Valdr (old norse. look it up.). He operates under a “no kill” rule, because that is the deal he and Hel made. She doesn’t actively look for his activities, but if he does anything that kills anyone, she will put him in jail.

“Fenrir.” My hands are clasped loosely behind my back as I look at him. He has a new scar above his eyebrow. I trace it with my eyes, wondering what the story is behind it.

“You were looking for me.” He states, his grey furred ears perking up from behind his shaggy hair.

“I needed to keep a promise I made to your sister.” I walk towards him and he doesn’t move, his nose twitching. A reminder that he sometimes is just as wolf as he is man, though he may look like the latter.

~How To Crush A Revolution

fenrir-aesthetic
Aesthetic for the rebellious Laufeyson

Well, this may well be the longest post I have ever written…

~Rubix/Ruby Sky

 

23 thoughts on “Finally! A Writing Post!

  1. Ah! I really want to read these books now!!!! The characters sound amazing and detailed, and I love the plot! And wonderful jobs on the collages (although now “Counting Stars” and “Shots” are running through my head). I love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Rubix, you have been tagged for the Word and Letter Tag, its up on my blog now (I’ve just realized thats kinda dumb to say, if it wasn’t up, I wouldn’t know who I was tagging. 😛 ) *is disappointed with self* Any who, its there, and the comment is here, so either enjoy yourself with it, or enjoy breaking blogger rules and skip it. 🙂 I don’t care, because I’m proud of myself by finally picking people outside of my TPS class to tag.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

