A Few Thoughts

Hello Readers,

Related image
Me after my long hiatus.

I know I’ve been completely absent kind of quiet this past month. I’ve just been adjusting to my new home and doing a decent amount of school. Camp NaNoWriMo is coming up next month and I am extremely excited to write a completely new novel for it.

Related image
Me with my novel characters. -cough-

I really like Mushu gifs, alright? Give a girl a break.

Anyway, Mushu gifs aside, this has been an interesting month for me. I moved across the ocean, have lived and am currently living in a hotel for a little over three weeks now, been to a mall with a ski slope and penguins in it (no, I am not joking, that is a legit thing), and met a lot (and I mean a lot) of new people.

Image result for emperor's new groove gifs

Here are some things I’ve learned or relearned about moving:

  • It gets easier once you’re actually there.
  • Emotions don’t make sense, just go into it knowing that. Let yourself feel the emotions, eat a bag of goldfish, and move on. No sense in dwelling on them.
  • Moving is an adventure, it’s a chance to explore something new. You have a completely blank slate. Nobody knows anything about you. You have so many opportunities to make minions to read your books one day new friends.
  • Find an anchor and you’ll be fine.
  • You’ll dream about all the goodbyes you said and wake up disoriented. It’s alright. Relish the feeling of knowing you’re done with goodbyes for a while and rub the sleep from your eyes.
  • If you want to get to know people, you need to go and make the first step. Prove that you’re going to stick around.
  • People are much friendlier than you might think.
  • Moving is scary but it’s not as scary as we make it out to be.
  • If you eat more ice cream than normal, it is completely fine.
  • Remember, goodbyes are hard but they are worth the hellos you said.
  • If you leave, it isn’t the end of the world. Rather, the beginning of a new one.
  • An end is required for the next chapter. Don’t hang onto the last words, rather, make new ones.

I hope you all have a great week!

~Ruby Sky

 

 

32 thoughts on “A Few Thoughts

  1. Well, this makes me a little teary. But you are right – the hellos make the goodbyes worth it. Someday there will be no more goodbyes!! Love you! Aunt Jules (p.s. We just watched Mulan I & II with Nana. Mushu is great!)

    Like

  2. Hey Ruby! It’s Ariel M. from NSA. I just wanted to say I love your blog! I especially loved this. I’ve been moving a lot lately and will be doing a big move in a few months, and I’m super nervous(though I’ve done this before). These were certainly some awesome tips, and they made me feel a little bit less nervous about moving. ^_^ Thanks, girl! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good advice, Ruby. My grandsons can probably relate. Talked to the youngest a few days ago, about the same age as your youngest brother. Ilias remembers grandma & grandpa and usually asks about his favorite foods he had here. This time he wanted to know if we had chips and yogurt. Keep writing, we’ll keep reading, and remember you and your family. Aunt Jean

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All of this is true. (especially the ice cream part.) I moved just recently so I know. 😉
    I didn’t catch on that the goldfish were crackers at first. ;P And when you go tot the store to buy real fish they do give them to you in a bag… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I moved across the ocean for the… fourth time, now? I keep going back and forth, man.

      I have lived in China, America, North Africa, and I am now living in the Middle East.

      My novel is a norse mythology sci-fi novel with Loki as my protag. 🙂 It’s lots of fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

